Scientific Advisory Committee

The GBC Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) provides advice to the GBC Board of Funders and the GBC Executive Director in all aspects of the development and implementation of the GBC’s scientific mission.
Ron Appel (Chair)
Executive Director emeritus, SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
Phil Bourne
Dean, School of Data Science and Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Virginia
Josefina Campos

Senior Technical Advisor, World Health Organization, Germany

Christine Durinx
Managing Director, Vlaams Instituut voor Biotechnologie
Varsha Khodiyar
Director, Echobyte Data Solutions, UK
Paula Mabee
Chief Scientist and Observatory Director, National Ecological Observatory Network, USA
Nicola Mulder
Professor and head of the Computational Biology (CBIO) division at the University of Cape Town

Principal investigator of H3ABioNet, a Pan African bioinformatics network for H3Africa

Philippe Sanseau
GSK, Head of the Global Computational Biology and Stats Department at GSK Pharma R&D in Target Sciences
Yongbiao Xue
Professor, Beijing Institute of Genomics (BIG), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and China National Center for Bioinformation (CNCB), Beijing, China